Hawkwind is an English rock band formed in Ladbroke Grove, London, England in 1969. They are one of the earliest space rock groups and are considered an influential proto-punk band. The band was started by the musicians Dave Broke, Mick Slattery, and John Harrison. The current members of the band are Dave Brock on vocals and guitar, Magnus Martin on guitar and keyboards, Niall Hone on bass guitar and keyboards, and Richard Chadwick on drums and vocals. They released their self-titled debut album in 1970 and have since released the albums In Search of Space, Hall of the Mountain Grill, Warrior on the Edge of Time, 25 Years On, PXR5, Levitation, Sonic Attack, Church of Hawkwind, Choose Your Masques, Space Bandits, White Zone, Alien 4, In Your Area, Spacebrock, Take Me to Your Leader and many more. In total the band has released 30 studio albums, 11 live albums, 15 compilation albums, and 8 EPs. They have released their music and albums through the labels UA, Charisma, Bronze, RCA/Active, Flicknife, GWR, EBS, Voiceprint, and Cherry Red.