Wolfgang Petersen

Wolfgang Petersen was born in Emden, Germany on March 14, 1941. In 1974, he received the Best New Direction Award from the German Film Awards for Einer von uns beiden. Bambi Awards handed him the Film-National Award for Die unendliche Geschichte in 1984. During the 1986 Avoriaz Film Festival, Enemy Mine received the C.S.T. Award and the Antennae Award.

The same awarding body gave him the Film-International award in 1995 for Outbreak and the award for the direction of Air Force One (1997).

Petersen also worked in the mini-seies Das Boot between 1985 and 1986. He directed The Perfect Storm (2000), Troy (2004), Poseidon (2006), and Four Against the Bank (2016). He is also the executive producer of the 2001 TV series The Agency and the 2006 Avenger movie.